Entrance Hall

VT Tab Entrance Hall Information

Entrance Hall History

After the death of Henry Clay Frick’s wife, Adelaide, in 1931, the mansion was transformed into a space suitable as a public institution. Significantly and sensitively expanded by John Russell Pope, the resulting building opened to the public on December 16, 1935, as The Frick Collection. The mansion’s former porte-cochère was demolished to make way for a public entryway, now known as the Entrance Hall.

  • Entrance Hall, undated

  • Entrance Hall, undated

  • Entrance Hall under construction, looking southeast, 1935

  • Entrance Hall under construction, looking south, 1935

  • Frick Collection entrance, 70th Street, 1958

Launch in Full Screen Mode

Get the full experience and go through The Frick Collection in full screen mode on your browser or ipad. Jump to different rooms using the radar map, the slide-out preview, or the room selection menu.

To exit the full screen mode, simply click on the "x" button at the bottom to return to the virtual tour floor plan.

Launch Fullscreen Virtual Tour


View Works Currently on Display in the Entrance Hall

For the most up-to-date information on works of art that are currently on display in the Entrance Hall, please click here.


Google Art Project

Google recently announced the major global expansion of last year's groundbreaking Art Project. This unique collaboration merging art and technology now includes 151 partners in 40 countries around the world. In the United States alone, the project has expanded beyond the initial group of four museums, which included The Frick Collection, to represent 29 partners — ranging from large institutions to university galleries — in 16 cities.

For more information about this project, see Google Art Project

Launch Google Art Project