VT Tab Fragonard Room Informatiion
Fragonard Room History
When Mr. and Mrs. Frick moved into their new residence, this room was called the Drawing Room, a reference to the custom of ladies “withdrawing” from the gentlemen after dinner. Frick’s acquisition of Fragonard’s painted ensemble required that the room be rebuilt to accommodate it. Having purchased the panels from the art dealer Joseph Duveen, Mr. Frick autho- rized him to acquire the sculpture, chimneypiece, furniture, porcelains, and gilt bronze objects that complement Fragonard’s masterpiece; these have remained in the room ever since. The boiseries, or painted wall panels, were designed and executed in Paris by Auguste Decour in the Louis XVI style. The newly christened Fragonard Room opened in 1916.
Launch in Full Screen Mode
Get the full experience and go through The Frick Collection in full screen mode on your browser or ipad. Jump to different rooms using the radar map, the slide-out preview, or the room selection menu.
To exit the full screen mode, simply click on the "x" button at the bottom to return to the virtual tour floor plan.
Google Art Project
Google announced the major global expansion of their groundbreaking Art Project. This unique collaboration merging art and technology includes several hundred partners in 40 countries around the world. In the United States alone, the project has expanded beyond the initial group of four museums, which included The Frick Collection, to represent 29 partners — ranging from large institutions to university galleries — in 16 cities.
For more information about this project, see Google Art Project