Oval Room

VT Tab Oval Room Information

Oval Room History

Mr. Frick’s former office was demolished to make way for the Oval Room during the mansion’s conversion to a museum between 1931 and 1935. An oval shape was chosen because, according to the architect John Russell Pope, “It could be creatively treated as a thing in itself, contrasting with the court’s rectangle....”

  • Oval Room under construction, looking east, 1935

  • Oval Room under construction, looking west, 1935

  • Oval Room, 1935

  • Oval Room, 1935

  • Oval Room, 1938

  • Oval Room, 1942

  • Oval Room, 1976

Launch in Full Screen Mode

Get the full experience and go through The Frick Collection in full screen mode on your browser or ipad. Jump to different rooms using the radar map, the slide-out preview, or the room selection menu.

To exit the full screen mode, simply click on the "x" button at the bottom to return to the virtual tour floor plan.

Launch Fullscreen Virtual Tour


View Works Currently on Display in the Oval Room

For the most up-to-date information on works of art that are currently on display in the Oval Room, please click here.


Google Art Project

Google recently announced the major global expansion of last year's groundbreaking Art Project. This unique collaboration merging art and technology now includes 151 partners in 40 countries around the world. In the United States alone, the project has expanded beyond the initial group of four museums, which included The Frick Collection, to represent 29 partners — ranging from large institutions to university galleries — in 16 cities.

For more information about this project, see Google Art Project

Launch Google Art Project