VT Tab Oval Room Information
Oval Room History
Mr. Frick’s former office was demolished to make way for the Oval Room during the mansion’s conversion to a museum between 1931 and 1935. An oval shape was chosen because, according to the architect John Russell Pope, “It could be creatively treated as a thing in itself, contrasting with the court’s rectangle....”
Launch in Full Screen Mode
Get the full experience and go through The Frick Collection in full screen mode on your browser or ipad. Jump to different rooms using the radar map, the slide-out preview, or the room selection menu.
To exit the full screen mode, simply click on the "x" button at the bottom to return to the virtual tour floor plan.
Google Art Project
Google announced the major global expansion of their groundbreaking Art Project. This unique collaboration merging art and technology includes several hundred partners in 40 countries around the world. In the United States alone, the project has expanded beyond the initial group of four museums, which included The Frick Collection, to represent 29 partners — ranging from large institutions to university galleries — in 16 cities.
For more information about this project, see Google Art Project