VT Tab Reception Information

Reception Hall History

Between 1940 and 1972, the trustees of The Frick Collection acquired three adjoining properties with plans to build an additional wing and garden. The final structure, designed by John Barrington Bayley, with Harry Van Dyke and G. Frederick Poehler, was completed in 1977. It includes a Reception Hall, Coat Room, and Shop; its lower floor houses exhibition galleries. 

Decorative Art in the Reception Hall

Chinese Blue-and-White Porcelain, mostly 18th and 19th centuries. Bequest of Childs Frick in memory of his wife, Frances Dixon Frick, 1965.


  • Reception Hall, looking north, 1977

  • Reception Hall, northeast corner, 1977

Launch in Full Screen Mode

Get the full experience and go through The Frick Collection in full screen mode on your browser or ipad. Jump to different rooms using the radar map, the slide-out preview, or the room selection menu.

To exit the full screen mode, simply click on the "x" button at the bottom to return to the virtual tour floor plan.

Launch Fullscreen Virtual Tour


View Works Currently on Display in the Reception Hall

For the most up-to-date information on works of art that are currently on display in the Reception Hall, please click here.


Google Art Project

Google recently announced the major global expansion of last year's groundbreaking Art Project. This unique collaboration merging art and technology now includes 151 partners in 40 countries around the world. In the United States alone, the project has expanded beyond the initial group of four museums, which included The Frick Collection, to represent 29 partners — ranging from large institutions to university galleries — in 16 cities.

For more information about this project, see Google Art Project

Launch Google Art Project