Louisa Wood Ruby

ARIES: ARt Image Exploration Space

The Digital Art History Lab is proud to present ARIES, an innovative and intuitive web-based platform that allows art historians to work with digital images easily and effectively.

Kress Foundation Grant for Image Analysis Toolkit

The Frick Art Reference Library Photoarchive recently received a $25,000 grant from the Kress Foundation to support the creation of a toolkit that will perform computer vision analysis on digitized art historical photo archives. This toolkit will be a groundbreaking application of technology that will transform the way photo archives are used.

Welcoming Remarks, Ian Wardropper and Louisa Wood Ruby

link to video

April 12, 2019. Ian Wardropper and Louisa Wood Ruby present opening remarks for the two-day symposium 'When Michelangelo Was Modern: The Art Market and Collecting in Italy, 1450–1650' presented at The Frick Collection by the Center for the History of Collecting, Frick Art Reference Library.

Searching Through Seeing: Optimizing Computer Vision Technology for the Arts

Welcome and opening remarks delivered by Stephen J. Bury, Andrew W. Mellon Chief Librarian, Frick Art Reference Library and Louisa Wood Ruby, Head of Research, Frick Art Reference Library. This video introduces a series of lectures from the symposium 'SEARCHING THROUGH SEEING: OPTIMIZING COMPUTER VISION TECHNOLOGY FOR THE ARTS' presented by The Frick Collection and the Frick Art Reference Library on Thursday and Friday, April 12-13, 2018.

Louisa Wood Ruby: "A Family Affair: Bruegel and Sons in America"

Link to video of Louisa Wood Ruby lecture

Louisa Wood Ruby, Head of Photoarchive Research, Frick Art Reference Library presents her lecture, “A Family Affair: Bruegel and Sons in America" on Saturday, May 14, 2016. This lecture is part of the symposium 'America and the Art of Flanders: Collecting Paintings by Rubens, Van Dyck, and Their Circles' presented by the Center for the History of Collecting at The Frick Collection on Friday and Saturday, May 13-14, 2016.