The Frick Collection is closed. Please refer to this page for updates. »


Past Exhibition

Don Quixote Consults the Enchanted Head

Painting of Don Quixote Consulting the Enchanted Head at the House of Don Antonio Moreno

Charles Coypel (French, 1694–1752)
Don Quixote Consults the Enchanted Head at the House of Don Antonio Moreno
1732
Oil on canvas
62 1/4 x 71 7/8 in. (158 x 185 cm)
Palais Impérial de Compiègne; long-term loan from the Musée du Louvre, Paris (3584)

Provenance: Gobelins Tapestry Manufactory, probably from 1732 to 1823. Musée du Louvre, from 1823 to 1832. Château de Compiègne, from 1832 to 1846. Musée du Louvre, from 1846 to 1849. Château de Compiègne, from 1849 to 1939. Chambord, between 1939 and 1946. Château de Compiègne, from 1946 (except when restored at the Musée du Louvre in 1977–78).