Past Exhibition

Paintings

 
  • Painting of Don Quixote at an outdoor table with girls from the Inn

    Charles Coypel (French, 1694–1752)
    Don Quixote Served by the Girls of the Inn
    1751
    Oil on canvas
    22 7/8 x 28 3/8 in. (58 x 72 cm)
    Musée Jacquemart-André, Paris— Institut de France (MJAP-P2379)

    Provenance: Probably Charles Coypel, Paris, until 1753 (postmortem sale of the painter, March 27 and following days, 1753, lot 167). Marquis de Véri, Paris, until 1785 (auction sale on December 12, 1785, lot 6). F. de Villars, Paris, until 1868 (auction sale on March 13, 1868, lot 23). Mr. and Mrs. Edouard André, 1886 (acquired in London from Henri Eyre). Given in 1913 with the rest of their collection to the Institut de France.
  • Painting depicting a restrained, asleep Don Quixote fighting wineskins

    Charles Coypel (French, 1694–1752)
    Asleep, Don Quixote Fights the Wineskins
    1716
    Oil on canvas
    48 x 50 3/8 in. (122 x 128 cm)
    Palais Impérial de Compiègne; long-term loan from the Musée du Louvre, Paris (3560)

    Provenance: Gobelins Tapestry Manufactory, from 1716 to 1823. Musée du Louvre, from 1823 to 1832. Château de Compiègne, from 1832 to 1846. Musée du Louvre, from 1846 to 1849. Château de Compiègne, from 1849 to 1939. Chambord, between 1939 and 1946. Château de Compiègne, from 1946 (except when restored at the Musée du Louvre between 1977 and 1981).

  • Painting of The Distressed Countess Trifaldi, Afflicted by Her Beard, Imploring Don Quixote to Avenge Her

    Charles Coypel (French, 1694–1752)
    The Distressed Countess Trifaldi, Afflicted by Her Beard, Implores Don Quixote to Avenge Her
    probably 1716
    Oil on canvas
    48 3/8 x 51 in. (123 x 130 cm)
    Palais Impérial de Compiègne; long-term loan from the Musée du Louvre, Paris (3575)

    Provenance: Gobelins Tapestry Manufactory, probably from 1716 to 1823. Musée du Louvre, from 1823 to 1832. Château de Compiègne, from 1832 to 1846. Musée du Louvre, from 1846 to 1849. Château de Compiègne, from 1849 to 1939. Chambord, between 1939 and 1946. Château de Compiègne, from 1946 (except when restored at the Musée du Louvre in 1977–78).
  • Painting of Don Quixote at Don Antonio Moreno’s Ball

    Charles Coypel (French, 1694–1752)
    Don Quixote at Don Antonio Moreno’s Ball
    1731
    Oil on canvas
    65 3/8 x 105 1/8 in. (166 x 268 cm)
    Palais Impérial de Compiègne; long-term loan from the Musée du Louvre, Paris (3566)

    Provenance: Gobelins Tapestry Manufactory, from 1731 to 1810. Musée du Louvre, from 1810 to 1832. Château de Compiègne, from 1832 to 1846. Musée du Louvre, from 1846 to 1849. Château de Compiègne, from 1849 to 1939. Chambord, between 1939 and 1946. Château de Compiègne, from 1946 (except when restored at the Musée du Louvre in 1976–78).
  • Painting of Don Quixote Consulting the Enchanted Head at the House of Don Antonio Moreno

    Charles Coypel (French, 1694–1752)
    Don Quixote Consults the Enchanted Head at the House of Don Antonio Moreno
    1732
    Oil on canvas
    62 1/4 x 71 7/8 in. (158 x 185 cm)
    Palais Impérial de Compiègne; long-term loan from the Musée du Louvre, Paris (3584)

    Provenance: Gobelins Tapestry Manufactory, probably from 1732 to 1823. Musée du Louvre, from 1823 to 1832. Château de Compiègne, from 1832 to 1846. Musée du Louvre, from 1846 to 1849. Château de Compiègne, from 1849 to 1939. Chambord, between 1939 and 1946. Château de Compiègne, from 1946 (except when restored at the Musée du Louvre in 1977–78).