Reviving Eight Figures from the Original Frick Façade

April 2, 2024

Rebecca Gridley of Art Conservation Group in Long Island City introduces her team’s work on an unexpected aspect of the Frick’s renovation project. Eight caryatids—pillars in the shape of human figures—from the Frick mansion’s original East 70th Street façade are being restored and will be on view in a new space connecting the museum and the Frick Art Reference Library. The group of limestone sculptures has been in storage since the museum’s opening in 1935. Enjoy a sneak peek at the caryatids mid-restoration, a salient example of the many new ways visitors will be able to appreciate the unique history of our buildings.

Learn more about our renovation and enhancement project at Renovation and Enhancement Project.

© 2024 The Frick Collection

Facebook Twitter Threads